Staffordshire at Sea

Object Viewer
Use the navigation toolbar or keyboard controls to zoom and pan within the image. Click image to zoom in.
A=Zoom In :: Z=Zoom Out :: Click+Drag=Pan :: Esc=Reset

Page five of a list of one hundred and one officers and men on board HMS Lizard at the capture of the L’ Indomptable, 13th of September 1745

This list gives the number of persons; time when paid; to whom due; quality; sum due to each man;[signatures of men who have received their respective shares of the product of prize from Richard Drakeford]; in the presence of; remarks. Includes a letter of certification that the crew received their prize money on 24 November 1749.

Only the first and fifth pages of this list have been reproduced and transcribed. The fifth page has been included to reflect the nature of the distribution to lower ranking crew. However, the full document is 8 pages long and it is a distribution list for all crew.

(© Staffordshire Record Office: D1798/HM Drakeford/12a)

Admiral George Anson (1697-1762) Sir John Leveson (1555-1615) George Legge, Baron Dartmouth (c1647-1691) Richard Drakeford (c1709-1757) John Jervis, Earl St. Vincent (1735-1823) Introduction