On Staffordshire Past Track you can explore Staffordshire's history through photographs, images, maps and documents, using a range of easy to use search tools.

Past Track is managed by Staffordshire County Council's Archives & Heritage Service.

About us

Find out more about the Past track project

GPS Location Explorer
Mobile users view resources near your current position
Staffordshire in depth
Explore standalone content created for Past Track
Information about buying prints and commercial re-use
Contact us
Our online form, phone number and postal address.
Get involved
Content to share or local knowledge, get in touch!

Archives & Heritage on Twitter

Latest updates from Facebook

Staffordshire Past Track

On Staffordshire Past Track you can explore photographs, images, film clips, maps and audio clips using a range of easy to use search tools. You can also visit a range of on-line exhibitons on aspects of Staffordshire's history. Managed by Staffordshire County Council's Archives & Heritage Service.
Staffordshire Past Track
Staffordshire Past TrackThursday, September 21st, 2017 at 3:59pm
A large crowd watch the Meynell Hunt setting out after meeting outside the Dog and Partridge on Tutbury High Street. This photograph was taken from a point opposite the Dog and Partridge, looking towards the junction with Burton Street, Duke Street and Ludgate Street. Photograph taken by Gerald McCann of Uttoxeter.
Staffordshire Past Track
Staffordshire Past TrackTuesday, September 19th, 2017 at 4:22pm
The Church of St. John the Baptist, Mayfield in the 1830s, a watercolour by L.J. Wood from the William Salt Library's Staffordshire Views collection.
Staffordshire Past Track
Staffordshire Past TrackSunday, September 17th, 2017 at 5:59pm
Class at Walhouse Junior School, Cannock, 1972. The old school had been vacated in 1967, but by 1972 rising pupil numbers meant that classes were held there again. This photograph shows the first class to move back in. Can anyone see themselves in this picture?
Staffordshire Past Track
Staffordshire Past TrackFriday, September 15th, 2017 at 4:37pm
The new football season is well underway. If they had a manager, I wonder if the manager of this team survived longer than Frank De Boer did? Woodseaves Football Club, 1956. Back row (left to right): Jack Stubbs (Landlord of the Cock Inn), Gerald Talbot, John Allman, Ray Foulkes, Dennis Allman, Harold Simcock, Norman Allcock, Peter Allman, Mr Morris (Landlord of The Plough).

Front row: Mr Owen, Dennis Owen, John Bratton, Mr Childs, Monty Bright (mascot), Roger Bird, Derek Foulkes, and Brian Simcock.

Image courtesy of Kathleen Pickering.
Staffordshire Past Track
Staffordshire Past TrackWednesday, September 13th, 2017 at 4:27pm
Just added to www.staffspasttrack.org.uk is a poignant set of snapshot photographs of Yarnfield Isolation Hospital, near Stone taken by tuberculosis patient Dora Wiles. Dora, who lived in Rugeley, was a patient here in 1928 and again in 1930.

Here, TB patients Kathleen Clark (left) and Miss McCormick are pictured in their pyjamas next to one of the outdoor huts which were used during their treatment. At this time cures for TB were not readily available, and fresh air treatment was used to alleviate the symptoms. Sadly, Kathleen died on 1 July 1931 at the age of 22. Dora herself died of Pulmonary TB (also known as Consumption) in 1934 at the age of 26. Images courtesy of Susan Large.
Staffordshire Past Track
Staffordshire Past TrackMonday, September 11th, 2017 at 9:05am
It's Horn Dance Day today. This 1930s image shows the dancers in the garden of the Vicarage in Abbots Bromley.

The horn dance is an annual event which takes place on the first Monday after the first Sunday in September. The tradition is believed to date back to 1226 when it was part of a three day event celebrating St. Bartholomew's Day (24th August), although the earliest documentary evidence is Robert Plot's description of 1686.

There are usually 11 performers. Six dancers dressed in green jackets, breeches and green stockings, three carrying white painted reindeer horns, the other three, black horns. In addition there are the Fool, the Hobby-horse, Maid Marion, a cross-bow bearer (often a small boy), and a melodeon player.